Co-created by the Walkabout Ensemble
The Raveling
Sep 25Oct 13, 2019
Run Time:70 mins, no intermission
Directed byThom Pasculli
In Collaboration with:Fides Krucker & Delhi’s Guild of the Goat
With Original Text by:Morgan McNaught
8:00PM, Wednesday, September 25, 2019
$25
8:00PM, Thursday, September 26, 2019
$25
8:00PM, Friday, September 27, 2019
$25

8:00PM, Saturday, September 28, 2019
$25
8:00PM, Monday, September 30, 2019
$25
8:00PM, Thursday, October 3, 2019
$25
8:00PM, Friday, October 4, 2019
$25
8:00PM, Saturday, October 5, 2019
$25
2:30PM, Sunday, October 6, 2019
$25
8:00PM, Monday, October 7, 2019
$25
8:00PM, Thursday, October 10, 2019
$25
8:00PM, Friday, October 11, 2019
$25
8:00PM, Saturday, October 12, 2019
$25
2:30PM, Sunday, October 13, 2019
$25

THE RAVELING is an avant-garde family history drama that teases apart the knotted expectations of coming together for dinner. In a surrealist interweaving of personal narratives, song, fairy tales, and food preparation the cast grapples with the dissonance between the need to belong and the agitation of organizing one’s life around other people. 

Directed by Walkabout’s Artistic Director Thom Pasculli, in collaboration with vocal specialist Fides Krucker and with original text by Morgan McNaught, THE RAVELING is created and performed by Walkabout ensemble members Nigel Brown, McCambridge Dowd-Whipple, Cooper Forsman, Dana Murphy and Katie Mazzini, with Anastacia Narrajos and Guild of the Goat ensemble members Anirudh Nair and Amba-Suhasini Jhala. 

In THE RAVELING, each family member follows the thread of an old story, an inherent lie, a childhood promise, or a shared fantasy that leads them from homeleaving to homecoming and back again. The family’s reality is stretched across decades of myth and misadventures. Inspired by true personal narratives of the performers, there is a living question for the ensemble in tracing something of where they each come from and asking what is needed for them to come together. What is the work of coming undone?

THE RAVELING production team includes: Dina Marie Saubert (lighting design), Myron Elliott-Cisneros (costume design), Dominique Zaragoza (scenic design), Sonya Madrigal (asst. director), Shanyn Strub (stage manager), Nyssa Lowenstein (operations manager), and Rose Mozier (Walkabout intern) with Corey Smith (sound design consultant).

Send this to a friend